Trustees Announce Date

The Gettysburg College Board of Trustees announced that Janet Morgan Riggs, Class of 1977, will be inaugurated as the institution's 14th president Saturday, Sept. 12, on campus.

The trustees appointed Riggs unanimously at their winter meeting Feb 6. She became president immediately, having served as interim president since last March.
While Riggs is the first alumna to be named president, three graduates of Pennsylvania College (now Gettysburg College) also led their alma mater: Milton Valentine, Class of 1850, from 1868 to 1884; Harvey Washington McKnight, Class of 1865, from 1884 to 1904; and Samuel Gring Hefelbower, Class of 1891, from 1904 to 1910.

Founded in 1832, Gettysburg College is a highly selective four-year residential college of liberal arts and sciences. With a student body of approximately 2,500, it is located on a 200-acre campus adjacent to the Gettysburg National Military Park in Pennsylvania.

Privacy Statement | Terms of Use

2009 Gettysburg College. All Rights Reserved